The One Minutes Africa Awards in Cairo

The One Minutes is a UNICEF-sponsored film project that launched in 1998 and has since developed into a global network with filmmakers from over 100 countries and an archive of well over 10,000 videos. In October 2011, the first One Minute Africa Awards were hosted by the Townhouse Gallery in its Downtown Factory Space.

Parallel to the awards ceremony, Townhouse Gallery also hosted an exhibition of the nominated videos in its Factory Space, alongside a selection of global One Minute films in its First Floor gallery.

The One Minute Africa competition included entries from all over the world, as well as videos made during workshops held by the six partner organizations artBakery (Bonendale, Cameroon), The Art Republic (Enugu, Nigeria), AYIZO Foundation (Benin), Greatmore Studios (Cape Town, South Africa), Irisson (Casablanca, Morocco), and Soleil d’Afrique (Bamako, Mali). 

I was delighted to represent Egypt with my video ROAR 2.0.

All nominated videos:

Maranata Tegegne – “This is my backyard” (Ethiopia)
Massira Toure – “Yan Ni Yen” (Mali)
Sekou Nomoko – “Chaleur Familiale” (Mali)
Efoui Kokou Marc – “Week-End” (Benin)
Marwen Trabelssi – “Del Bris de Ville” (Tunisia)
Aderemi Adegbite – “Ghetto Games” (Nigeria)
Zandile Skeyi – “Traditional Dance” (South Africa)
Mennat-Allah Kheireldin – “Five Sounds” (Egypt)
Nirveda Alleck – “L’Offrande” (Mauritius)
Dadja Laurent Djafalo – “Mon Intinite, Ma Vie Prive”(Benin)
Said Ennidam – “Il Montre Tout Mais Caches Le Mur” (Morocco)
Dicko Traore – “Rendez-Vous Galant” (Mali)
Thierry Oussou – “Cleptomanie” (Mali)
Leonard Totchemetcheho – “Aviti” (Benin)
Patrice Kemplo – “Illusion” (Cameroon)
Samuel Dalle – “Au Quotidien” (Cameroon)
Kato Jonan – “Music Videos” (Uganda)
Dimanche K. Yameogo – “Le Pain de Vie” (Burkina Faso)
Dominique Zinkpel – “Loisirs” (Benin)
Said Chebanate – “The End of a Newspaper” (Morocco)
Sophie Negrier and Marius Dansou – “Depigmentation” (Benin)
A. Philippe Houngbeji – “A Qui de Droit” (Benin)
Ezra Wube – “Amora” (Ethiopia)
Ndi Jackson Nginyu – “La Plaque” (Cameroon)
Efoui Kokou Marc – “Musique Urbaine” (Benin)
Justin Davy – “Mediation” and “Train 3505” (South Africa)
Rishka Chilwan – “Remember” (South Africa)
Dina Danish – “Lip Sinking in Water” (Egypt)
Alexandra Stock – “ROAR 2.0” (Egypt)
Marwen Trabelssi – “L’Arbre Magique” (Tunisia)
Sambou Sissoko – “Battements” (Mali)
Ali Heraize – “Adam” (Egypt)
Ruth Belinga – “He and Me” (Cameroon)
Seraphin Zounyekpe – “L’Autre Cote” (Benin)
Benjamin Deguenon – “Miroir” (Benin)
Fahad B. Faissol-Abdou – “Le Tanneur” (Benin)
Said Boudhaim and Youness Benseghir – “Petit Cavalier” (Morocco)
Carole Maloba – “Malaya” (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Chinenye Emelogu – “Na me be this” (Nigeria)
Aristide Alabah – “21e siecle”
Theirry Ousso – “Local Spirit”
Olaniyi Rasheed Akirash – “Under!!!”